How to get an extra 3 weeks of work done without killing yourself

One of my keys to success in business is getting more done in a day than most do in a week. One of my secret weapons is a 10 minute task list. While this doesn’t sound like a revolutionary idea or have any type of WOW factor to it, you will find out that it is effective.

Here’s what I noticed before I used this method. There are about a dozen or more time wasters that each person has. We are all different, but here’s a list of some of my old ones.

Top Time Wasters List:

Online News, Online Sports, Facebook, Twitter,  Video games, Texting, and a Quick call to family or friends.

Here’s how I tackle this and how you can to. I am always evaluating what I need to get done. From there, I pick out tasks that only take 10 minutes or less to complete. I then keep a list of those tasks handy for times when I only have 10 minutes free. Here’s how it works. Next time I end a meeting early but only have 10 minutes before my next appointment, I break out my list and knock out a 10 minute task. Another big one for me is wrapping up lunch early. If I’m back early and have 20 minutes before my next call, I’ll knock out two tasks from my list.

You see, I understand very clearly that TIME is the only asset I have that I can’t control. No matter what I do, at the end of the day, that 8 hours is gone! There’s no way to get it back. So I have to make the most of it. On any given day I may knock out 3 to 5 of my 10 minute tasks. That’s a half hour to 50 minutes of solid work completed. That’s huge if you are like me and need every minute of the day to get things done.

Just for the sake of math, lets look closer at the numbers here. Assume you just get 3 tasks done a day. That’s 30 minutes of extra work complete per day or 2.5 hours per week. Here’s the real shocker. That amounts to 125 hours per YEAR of extra work that you could get done. That’s over 3 weeks! That’s a lot of time you don’t want to waste.

So next time you notice you are falling behind or don’t have enough hours in the day, take 10 minutes to create your own 10 minute task list and watch your productivity soar!

Leave a Reply

